Don’t Leave Home Without It: Moleskine Notebooks

Apparently Moleskine notebooks were the paper of choice for great writers and artists such as Vincent van Gogh, Pablo Picasso and Ernest Hemingway.  Who cares?  I’ve got more exciting news- they’re the paper of choice for me!

Clocking in at 2.5″ by 4″, these 56-page “Extra Small Ruled Volant” notebooks are my very favorite for traveling.  I keep one with me at all times, and as I go about my day I take a moment here and there to write down what I’ve done.  The very minimum I record is where I slept, where and what I ate, and what sites or attractions I saw.  This helps me a lot with organizing my photos later.  When I meet other travelers I jot down their contact information, and I also use it to draw mini maps for myself (for example, if I book a hostel online I can sketch out how to get there from the train station upon arrival).  They come in all sorts of colors, though I always choose pink!

Along with my trusty Moleskine notebook I also carry around pens with a highlighter on the other end.  I get them for free at promotional events, and use the pen to write in my notebook, while I use the highlighter to note things in my guidebook, or to mark a route I’d like to take on a map.

2 responses to “Don’t Leave Home Without It: Moleskine Notebooks

  1. Pingback: Mealtime Monday: Sweet and Sour | Lipgloss and a Backpack

  2. Pingback: Mealtime Monday: Sweet and Sour | Lipgloss and a Backpack

Leave a Reply

