Hello, My Name is ********* and I’m an Over-Packer

What’s that, you say?  Why, it’s a gigantic pile of my clothes!  What will I be bringing on this eight-week trip?

  • Three day-to-day dresses
  • One dress for nightclubs
  • Three skirts
  • Two pairs of shorts
  • Jeans
  • Yoga pants
  • Three t-shirts
  • Eight tank tops
  • One sweatshirt
  • Two bathing suits
  • One pair board shorts
  • Oversized t-shirt / cover-up
  • Two cropped cardigans
  • One regular cardigan
  • Two nightshirts
  • Bras
  • Panties
  • Socks
  • Running shoes (extremely old and worn out- I’ll toss these out while I’m overseas)
  • Flats
  • Flip-flops (regular and “anatomically” moulded)
  • Daily purse
  • Small purse for evenings out
  • Beach bag

The pink plaid shirt didn’t make the cut, though!  I’m also not packing heels on this trip; I’m hoping my jeweled flip-flops will be enough to get me into the clubs.  I swapped out a lightweight scarf for the regular cardigan too.

Nearly everything fits in my backpack.  I’m keeping one of the dresses, a small cardigan, a pair of underwear and a complete swim look in my day pack, which I will carry on.  I’ll be wearing the jeans, a tank and the sweatshirt, along with flip-flops, for the flight.  The backpack is currently holding my guidebook (which I normally keep in the day pack after arriving) and tampons (which shall soon be used).  I should be able to fit everything inside!  Should!

5 responses to “Hello, My Name is ********* and I’m an Over-Packer

  1. Oh boy, I hate to intrude but…I think your back is going to hate you.
    Dump 2 dresses, dump a skirt, dump a nightgown (you can use your oversize shirt as an alternate), dump a pair of shorts, dump a cropped cardi, dump the beach bag (use your purse instead). Wash once a week or so. Really. Your back will thank you.
    And I would bring the plaid shirt – it actually goes well with your other clothes (capsule wardrobe)

  2. No chance! My back will be fine- I’m in great shape! The only thing on my list I’d consider parting with is one nightgown. And the plaid shirt might be the right color palette, but it’s not in proportion with anything except the jeans. I’ll also be dumping a beach towel after the first few days, plus leaving the running shoes behind. I won’t often be staying in places long enough to wash and dry my clothes, so I need to have at least fourteen days of outfits.

    • Hmmm. I usually sink wash my clothes, roll them up in a towel to get the moisture out, and let it air dry. It’s almost always been dry in the morning (exception was a temperate rain forest)

      I don’t pack outfits per se. I like interchangable tops and bottoms to get lots of combinations. With 9 items of clothes I can get 30+ outfits and keep my bag weight below 15 pounds.

      It makes moving around easy.

      It is your trip though. I hope you have bunches of fun and get all the travel issues cleared.

  3. Pingback: Interview with Carly from Lipgloss and a Backpack | Stylish travelling for all

  4. Pingback: Interview with Carly from Lipgloss and a Backpack | Glamourous Traveller

Leave a Reply

