Mealtime Monday: Money-Saving Meals

catalan

Yesterday I wrote about making sure your personal budget reflects your priorities.  Because travel is such a big priority for me I rarely spend money eating out (except when I’m traveling, which is kind of the point of Mealtime Monday).  This week, I decided to share a photo of something I prepared at home: Catalan Couscous Salad.  I got the recipe from this cookbook, and have been enjoying this mix of spinach, whole-wheat couscous, pears, toasted almonds and homemade romesco sauce dressing ever since.  A salad like this would cost at least $10 at a restaurant here, while for the same price I can purchase enough of the ingredients to make four meal-sized salads myself.  The savings?  Straight into my travel fund!

3 responses to “Mealtime Monday: Money-Saving Meals

  1. Pingback: Hamam at Home | Lipgloss and a Backpack

  2. This looks great! I really need to be better at eating out less and cooking more – and this looks like a great recipe 🙂

  3. Pingback: Hamam at Home | Lipgloss and a Backpack

Leave a Reply

