Inspiring Travel Books: Radio Shangri-La

Since it doesn’t look like a trip is in my near future, I’m going to have to have my travel adventures through osmosis. I’ve always had a love of travelogues and travel-related books (and even just books set in exotic locales), so I thought I’d introduce a new feature to my blog: Inspiring Travel Books. Here, I’ll share some of the books that got me excited about travel, or that kept me from getting too restless during those long, travel-less periods when life gets in the way. With no future ado, here is my first selection:

Radio Shangri-La tells the story of an American journalist who spends a year living and working in one of the least-visited countries in the world: Bhutan.  Several years ago I made it a travel mission to visit the least happy country in the world: Moldova.  Bhutan, on the other hand, is actually the happiest country in the world.  While the people  may not have material wealth, they have spiritual and emotional riches unmatched by other cultures.

In Radio Shangri-La the author recounts her time in Bhutan- the initial culture shock, the slow adaptation, a gradually-developed happiness and then- as many expats feel upon returning to their home nation- a surprise feeling of no longer fitting in at “home”.  The lessons she learns from the Bhutanese people are enlightening to even the best-traveled reader, and the novelty of Bhutan as a destination makes the story stand out from other travelogues on the shelf at the book store (or library!).

You can pick up Radio Shangri-La: What I Learned in Bhutan, the Happiest Kingdom on Earth by Lisa Napoli at Amazon. This one is a keeper for readers who are interested in self-realization but want something a little deeper than Eat, Prey, Love.

One response to “Inspiring Travel Books: Radio Shangri-La

  1. beautybyamyboutique

    A great read thank you. Im a lover of travelling and was blown away with Eat, Pray, Love. This book is now on my top 5 things I must purchase!

    Beauty by Amy x

Leave a Reply

