Mealtime Monday: Proving “Vegetarian” Doesn’t Always Equal “Healthy”

Brek Dinner

I remember everything about this meal.  I had just moved to Turin / Torino and was living out of the youth hostel.  It was within six weeks of discovering that raw vegetables were actually good, and declaring myself a vegetarian.  It was more than a year before I learned how to make healthy vegetarian choices.  I remember the salad bar, where I topped a heaping pile of mâche (lamb’s lettuce, the green stuff) and grated carrots with lentils, white beans and boiled potatoes.  On the side?  Enough pasta with gorgonzola-walnut sauce to feed a small family.  Or a large family.  Needing just a few more carbs I also seem to have grabbed a roll.  And since I hadn’t yet discovered the joys of the self-service wine taps at Brek, I had a Fanta Orange to wash it all down.

One response to “Mealtime Monday: Proving “Vegetarian” Doesn’t Always Equal “Healthy”

  1. Health and vegetarianism going hand-in-hand is a worldwide myth!

Leave a Reply

