The Bathroom Alchemist

bathalc1

Sometimes I read beauty blogs where women talk about doing their makeup in the morning.  They wash their face, use toner, apply serum, use a moisturizer, put on sunscreen, apply primer, use foundation, spot-conceal with concealer and then set it all with powder.  The very thought of layering all of those products on my skin, not to mention the time involved with a ten-step morning skin routine, makes me want to go back to bed and never emerge.  However, I totally understand product love, which is why I consider myself something of a bathroom alchemist, mixing and blending products together for quick, easy and flawless application.   I literally just take a few drops of each of these products and blend them together on my fingertips before applying it all as one step.

The bare-bones mix that I would use on a casual day such as today (which was spent moving furniture from my old office to my new office) requires nothing more than a little hydration, a little protection and a little illumination.  In a recent beauty box subscription I received two great Estee Lauder samples: Advanced Time Zone, which is a luxurious moisturizing cream with SPF 15, and Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator, which illuminates skin without cheap, tacky shimmer.  Mixed together these go on smooth and make my skin look naturally beautiful- no additional makeup required!

bathalc2

On days when I might interact with the public sans arms full of boxes and clothes covered in dust, I blend a few extra products together.  Lately I’ve been working on using up a bottle of Oil of Olay moisturizer (with SPF 15), so I’ve been combining a few drops of the lotion with a single drop of foundation, one or two drops of 100% pure argan oil, and a little dab of pore minimizer.  This gives me two layers of hydration, a little bit of color, sun protection and the added bonus of invisible pores.  (When you only use a drop of foundation each day the bottle lasts forever… I’m pretty sure Clinique stopped selling this particular foundation back when the Spice Girls were still topping the charts!)

Blending products is great for girls on the go.  It’s fast and easy, and I believe that in the end you use less of the higher-cost products (put the money you save into your travel fund!).  If you’ve got a custom blend share it in the comments!

4 responses to “The Bathroom Alchemist

  1. Must Have Boxes

    These products look amazing!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. I mix my hair gel with a little hair cream.

  3. I adore Benefit’s Porefessional. For my daily routine, I don’t mix, but instead layer: CeraVe facial moisturizer AM, Monistat anti-chafing gel (works just like Smashbox’s Photo Finish primer at a fraction of the cost), Rimmel BB Cream, and a dusting of e.l.f.’s high definition powder.

  4. Pingback: September 2013 Topbox Unboxing: On Being the Last Girl to Arrive at the Party for Old People | Lipgloss and a Backpack

Leave a Reply

