A Recipe for a Beauty Cocktail

beauty cocktail

It’s a time of celebration around these parts.  At work, our fiscal year ended on Friday and I now have a well-deserved two-month holiday.  Well, something of a holiday… I am actually beginning a two-year Master of Arts degree program that involves a summer residency on campus followed by an extensive, collaborative online program.  Although I have a two-month break from work for now, in the fall I will continue my studies and return to my full-time job.  Add blogging and a social life to the mix and I’m going to be one busy girl!

Later this week I will drive more than 1,000 kilometers to reach my new university.  This will be the longest I’ve spent behind the wheel before, and I’m a little nervous.  To quell my nerves I’m relaxing, packing and sipping this Beauty CocktailMy variation of a classic white wine spritzer is perfect for warm summer evenings on the patio (or on WordPress).

Beauty Cocktail Recipe

4 oz very cold white wine (chill it in the freezer for thirty minutes)

4 oz very cold club soda

1 tbsp pure pomegranate juice

Sprinkle of frozen berries

Pour the white wine and pomegranate juice into a wine glass, then top with club soda.  Add frozen berries and enjoy!

This drink is great because the club soda dilutes the alcohol, making it less dehydrating than a regular glass of white wine (and less calorific too!).  The frozen berries (I’ve used blackberries, strawberries, raspberries and red currants) and pomegranate juice turn your drink a beautiful pink color while adding a mini dose of anti-oxidants, protecting your skin from the inside out.  You can also swap in pure black cherry or pure cranberry juice- just make sure you’re not using a diluted or sugar-added blend.

3 responses to “A Recipe for a Beauty Cocktail

  1. Yummy! I can’t wait to try that sometime…I live in Thailand now, so some of the ingredients may be a challenge. Good luck with your drive and with your new studies! Love your blog by the way…found it when you were featured on the GlamourousTraveller blog!

  2. Yum, this sounds delish!!
    I love cocktails, but this Beauty Cocktail sounds amazing!
    Nicely done 🙂
    LiLi Xx

Leave a Reply

