Mealtime Monday: Pishat

pishat

Have you ever wanted to make sweet, sweet love to a cabbage?  Look, I’m not saying that I would… but I’m not saying I wouldn’t either.  The cabbage in the center of this grilled vegetable plate was a revelation- nothing like the cabbage my mom used to make (which consequently turned me off this cruciferous friend for years).  Of course the other veggies, and paper-thin flatbread stuffed with cheese, weren’t too bad either!  And with the cost of this meal (with a bottle of Schweppe’s Bitter Lemon, of course) clocking in around €5… I think I can safely say I was in cabbage heaven!

I savored this meal at Pishat, in Pristina, Kosovo.  Sadly, “pishat” means “fir tree”, not “urine headpiece”. 

Leave a Reply

