Review: Nuxe Travel Kit – The Essentials

nuxe travel kit

One of the things I tossed in my tote on a recent road trip was this mini travel kit from French skincare line Nuxe.  I actually purchased one of these kits as a gift for a colleague, and at the great price of $15 CAD (with a value of $34) I picked up a second kit for myself as well.

The first product I used from the Nuxe travel kit was the Eau Demaquillante Micellaire Aux 3 Roses, which is a single-step cleansing water comparable with that of Bioderma or Roc.  The difference in this formula is the strong rose scent (infused with real rose petals) and the slightly-more-moisturizing formula, perfect for travelers with dry skin.  I tucked a few cotton pads into the kit to apply this cleanser morning and night while I was on the road.

The second product is an anti-aging serum, Nuxellence Jenuesse, which is the brand’s best-selling product in their home market of France.  Recommended for daily application on combination skin, or twice-daily application on dry skin, this serum illuminates and hydrates skin beautifully.  I would definitely consider making this my daily serum when I’m back home in a dry climate.

Third in the kit is the brand’s famous Huile Prodigieuse, a multi-purpose dry oil that can be used on face, body or hair.  The scent on this one is is great- it actually smells expensive.  The antithesis to any and every Bath and Body Works lotion in existence.  As the oil is quite heavy I didn’t want to risk applying it to my face, but I did apply it to my arms and legs while they were damp, and it left my skin soft, smooth and glowing.  I tried a bit in my hair too, and can see how it would be great at repairing dehydrated locks.

The fourth item, Reve de Miel Hand and Nail Cream, was one that I passed on to a friend.  I am loyal to an obscure brand of hand cream and don’t typically use it during the warm summer months.  I did appreciate the mild scent of this hand cream though; it definitely wouldn’t clash with or overwhelm your perfume.

The final item in the kit was my favorite.  The Fondant Shower Gel is a soap-free formula that, like the Huile Prodigieuse, smells heavenly.  It claims to contain “almond and orange flower petals” which probably explains the light, fresh, sweet smell.  The formula is soft and moisturizing as well.  This is the kind of body wash I would expect to find in an upscale spa on the French Riviera.

I tossed a few more items into this kit before I left: the aforementioned cotton pads (for the cleansing water), deodorant, sunscreen, SPF lip balm, miniature shampoo and conditioner bottles, a toothbrush and toothpaste, and a few hair elastics.  It was all I needed for my one-night stop in a hotel halfway through my drive.

I purchased this kit at Shoppers Drug Mart in Canada, and it is also available on Amazon.

One response to “Review: Nuxe Travel Kit – The Essentials

Leave a Reply

