Project Trash Ten: 3.5 / 10

I’m in the midst of Project Trash Ten, in which I try to use up ten things I already own before buying more makeup and personal care items.   I am giving myself one point for each full-size item I use up, and half a point for each sample size.   This weekend I worked my way through three sample-sized products; here are the empties!

empties fresh sugar

The first item I used up was a sample of Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment from Sephora.  This was part of the Beauty Insider birthday gift package from 2012.  I liked the feel of this balm on  my lips, and loved that it had SPF 15, but even a full-size tube wouldn’t justify the $22.50 price tag for me.  Maybelline Baby Lips feel just as nice and offer SPF 25 for a fraction of the price.  So while I’m glad to have tried this out, I won’t be re-purchasing.

empties evian and estee lauder

In my quest to have the skin of a Frenchwoman I used up two other beauty samples as well.  The first was a travel size Evian atomizer.  I’ve been into spritzing my face and cleaning with a micellar water most evenings, so I packed this atomizer when I’m following my routine on the road or at the gym (as my full-size La Roche-Posay atomizer is too cumbersome).  I will re-purchase before my next trip.  In the mornings I followed up my shower with a sample of Estee Lauder’s Advanced Time Zone Age Reversing Line/Wrinkle Cream with SPF 15.  This sample was large enough for me to use about ten times.  I liked the texture of this cream: it hydrated without causing breakouts, and it was easy to later apply a bit of makeup on top.  I don’t really have lines or wrinkles so I can’t speak to its prowess in that area.  Although it retails for $65 this is one I would consider re-purchasing during a good beauty bonus event.

One response to “Project Trash Ten: 3.5 / 10

  1. Thank you! I’ve always enjoyed reading your posts!
    I nominated you for the the LIEBSTER Award: http://writinggallery.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/writing-gallery-is-nominated-for-the-liebster-award/
    enjoy!

Leave a Reply

