Project Trash Ten: 5.5 / 10

empties

I’ve mentioned before that I’m trying to use up ten beauty products before I buy any new ones.  Today I used up two sample-sized product that frankly, I’m happy to be rid of.

The first product that I finally used up was Yves Rocher’s “Gentle Makeup Remover” for “Sensitive Eyes”.  Every single time I used this eye makeup remover I double-checked the bottle to make sure it wasn’t actually nail polish remover.  The formula was by far the least gentle makeup remover I’d ever tried.  Normally I can tolerate a lot, but this stung like mad and dried out the skin around my eyes.  To make matters worse it barely removed the makeup and I had to rub my eyes over and over to get the makeup (which wasn’t even waterproof!) off.  I should have tossed it in the trash after the first try, but I wanted to see if I’d get used to it.  No such luck.

The second product that I threw out today was a sample size of Glam Glow’s famous “tingling and exfoliating mud mask”.  I live in a pretty dry climate and only get occasional breakouts, so I had primarily been using this mask to spot treat pimples and enlarged pores.  Before I had time to use up the sample it dried out; when I went to apply a little dab today the dried mud inside the tube rattled like maracas.  I’m not sure how long I’ve had the sample (probably more than twelve months), but considering the price of this product I would expect it to last longer- especially in such an airtight tube.  Before, I would have considered buying a full-size pot of this mask for future spot treatment, but now I know it won’t last long enough for me to get my money’s worth.

Leave a Reply

