WPC: Juxatposition in Drumheller Alberta

drumheller fire station

I’m going to kill all the birds (pterodactyls?) with one stone today.  First, the Weekly Photo Challenge was all about juxtaposition, so here’s a small town fire station juxtaposed with a larger-than-life* dinosaur.  The town of Drumheller, Alberta is full of real fossils and pretend dinos!

Next, yesterday’s Zero to Hero challenge asked bloggers to participate in a blogging event.  I know you don’t want to see all of the pictures from me in the fourth grade wearing crop tops and bike shorts, so I skipped Throwback Thursday.  Instead I’m doing the Weekly Photo Challenge, which is easily my favorite as it’s so adaptable to my interests.

Finally, today’s Zero to Hero challenge is to publish a round-up.  I am up to my ears in work, both for my job and for my graduate degree program, so I’ve been indulging in a bit too much Starbucks lately.  I’m still doing a good job of cooking my three main meals each day, however, so I’m going to round up a healthy breakfast, lunch and dinner recipe that I’ve recently enjoyed.

  • BreakfastBaked Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal from The Curvy Carrot.  I use egg whites only and pumpkin seeds instead of nuts.  Baking oatmeal on the weekend to eat during the week takes away a ton of morning pressure.  This recipe is easy as pumpkin pie and only requires one bowl!  If you have leftover pumpkin puree you can freeze it in a resealable bag and use it in your next batch.
  • Lunch – I’ve fallen out of love with quinoa as over the past couple of years I’ve found that the quinoa available in my market is becoming more and more gritty (even after thoroughly rinsing).  I feel like I’m eating pebbles.  Actually, I’m sure I’m eating pebbles.  Enter couscous.  Couscous is just really little pasta, which makes it amazingly versatile.  Try this “five a day tagine” from BBC Good Food, or Lunchbox Couscous from Cook Republic.
  • Dinner – I love a meal-sized soup or salad for dinner.  I wish I’d had Averie Cooks’ Immune-Boosting Vegetable Soup and Broth before I got the flu in December, and when it comes to salad nothing beats Gwyneth Paltrow’s New York Street Vendor Salad (except maybe Gwyneth Paltrow’s New York Street Vendor Salad with a little bit of feta cheese and some beautiful Kalamata olives tossed in too…).

* Is that larger-than-life?  Or were dinosaurs actually that big? 

9 responses to “WPC: Juxatposition in Drumheller Alberta

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition (Rotterdam) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Juxtaposition | WoollyMuses

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Tim Wolverson - Photo Blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Juxtaposition | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Stefan Praetorius Naurin

  7. About your meals they sound very interesting and may be I will try that “Baked Pumpkin Spice Oatmeal” but how can you eat so less 🙂 ?

    That dinosaur is larger than life indeed :), seems to be full scale and the real one was 4 m tall at hips.

  8. Pingback: Day 14: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Dublin + 1 picture = 365 days!

  9. Pingback: Caged |Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

