Unboxing – Ipsy February 2014

ipsy february 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to teeter home last night and find my very first Ipsy bag waiting in my mailbox.  It was packaged in gorgeous pink foil; inside I found a pink makeup case stuffed with five samples.  I received:

  • J.Cat Beauty false eyelashes and lash glue.  This is a major disappointment to me as I am not a fan of false lashes (or of putting adhesives on my lash line).  These sell for $3.99
  • Skyn Iceland Fresh Start Mask with Ice Age Mud.  This is a two-step “detoxing, brightening and re-texturizing treatment”.  I’m looking forward to comparing this to Glam Glow; the value of this single-use treatment (containing both steps) is $6.50
  • City Color Be Matte Blush in Fresh Melon.  I haven’t seen City Color sold in my area so this is a new brand for me.  I typically wear blushes that are more pink (like Nars Orgasm) but was excited to try out this color this morning.  I was not disappointed, and was able to slowly build up this true melon color.  It reminded me a lot of the blush worn in the Christian Dior spring/summer 1998 collection, where vivid fuschia and orange blush was applied quite high on the cheek; almost under the eye.  If you’re hesitant to try this shade do consider wearing it a bit higher than usual!  This blush sells for only $2.99; at that price it’s worth buying a few shades!
  • Zoya nail polish in Odette.  I have a few other Zoya polishes in my collection and they are usually impressive in terms of color and durability.  Odette is a nice purple-beige that will look good with my cool coloring.  This sells for $9.00.
  • POP Beauty Plump Pout Mini in Fuchsia Freesia.  This is a bright pink lip gloss valued at about $16.

My first impressions of Ipsy are positive.  I get the sense they took my beauty profile into account (unlike some other boxes such as one that sent me leave-in conditioner… for wigs!) and I am happy about four of the five products.  I am also happy with the quick shipping, even to Canada.  The value of my first bag was quite good, as I paid $15 US for the bag (including shipping to Canada) and received about $38 worth of products.  As long as the quality of products and service remains this high I will definitely be keeping my Ipsy subscription active.

Don’t forget that I’m running a contest via my Facebook page.  If you don’t want to subscribe to a beauty box but still want some free products, I will be sending out six sets of Korean skin care samples as soon as my page reaches fifty likes.  Your chances are better than one in ten, so go for it!

(Links above are referral links.)

2 responses to “Unboxing – Ipsy February 2014

  1. I didn’t get the lashes or the mask but I loved the other 3 that I got like you. I’m super excited to try the blush and a Zoya polish is always welcomed! I’ve been getting Ipsy for at least 6 months and I’m never disappointed.

    • Lucky you! I’ve had a lot of beauty box disappointments before (two of the first three Canadian boxes went out of business and took many customers’ money with them) so it’s always nice to find a reliable subscription!

Leave a Reply

