Unboxing: Topbox February 2014

Topbox February 2014

I almost died laughing when I opened my February 2014 Topbox.  I’m starting to think this company has some kind of vendetta against me.  When I joined Topbox they promised that “Topbox is designed to offer beauty lovers like you an easy way to test luxury products”.  When I paid extra money to receive the Cosmetics Magazine upgrade box they promised that would be “the one and only time” they sent out “mass market” products in their boxes.  It’s no secret that the beauty box market is saturated, but that is no excuse for Topbox to go back on their promises and send out boxes, like the one I received today, that are quite literally poop.

  • essie Nail Lacquer in Headmistress.  This red shade is from the Fall 2012 collection!   It retails for $9.99 (nothing says luxury like a price ending in .99!) but I can buy it on sale at Shoppers Drug Mart for six dollars.  Actually, I’m not even sure if Shoppers Drug Mart sells shades that old.
  • So Susan Lip & Cheek Sublime.  Seriously, who uses a chubby crayon on their cheeks?  Are you joking?  I’m not opposed to using it on my lips, however, and I do think that this eighteen-dollar stain is an appropriate inclusion in this month’s box.  It’s a twist-top, if you were worried about not having an industrial-strength sharpener!
  • Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream.  I used to have a tube of this in high school and I’m not opposed to trying it again.  This sample is 30 ml and its relative value is fifteen dollars.  Not bad.
  • If only a blog post could truly capture the look on my face when I saw my fourth and final product was a three-dollar lip balm!   Yup, I also received an Epic Blend lip balm in grape flavor (WTF?) that looks like it’s left over from January’s ten-dollar beauty surprise fiasco.

The total value of my box is approximately $42, but I only consider two of the samples to be in line with the promises Topbox made to me when I signed up.  I did not sign up with a company promising “luxury” beauty products and no “mass market” partnerships so that I could receive drug store nail polish from 2012 and a three-dollar lip balm.  I also felt ripped off last month, and I don’t think it’s a coincidence that they billed me for the March box before shipping such an embarrassing February parcel.  My first instinct was to reach for the phone and call in a complaint and cancellation… but then I remembered that I’d already been charged.

The good news is that there are still some good beauty boxes on the market.  A few days ago I posted about my first Ipsy box, which delivered a gorgeous blush, pretty lip gloss, high-end facial mask and on-trend nail polish (from a current collection, not from 2012) for $15 (including shipping to Canada).  If you’re tired of being treated like a second-class customer by Canadian boxes make sure to give Ipsy a try!

(The Topbox link is not a referral link, since I wouldn’t actually want to refer anyone to Topbox.  The Ipsy link is a referral link because I actually like it.)

2 responses to “Unboxing: Topbox February 2014

  1. The lip and cheek stain looks very unusual! I could not imagine using a crayon on my cheeks. However, it looks very similar to the Revlon Colorburst Lacquers. I wonder how similar they are, or if it could be a good dupe??

    Would you mind checking out my new blog? http://testedbeauty.wordpress.com xx

  2. The stain ended up being a garish neon pink color. Which I actually don’t mind, but it looks deceptively pretty in the pencil. I will only be using it on my lips as I think it is unsanitary to use a product on your lips and on your cheeks (clogged pores!).

Leave a Reply

