Unboxing: Ipsy March 2014

As a Canadian beauty box subscriber I couldn’t be more happy with Ipsy again this month.  Even though it ships from another country, it still beats my only 100% Canadian beauty box to my door month after month.  In fact, it looks like Ipsy even ships to Canadians a little bit before some of their US subscribers in case there are delays at the border.  To fuel my impatience Ipsy also has something called the Glam Room, where those who feel so inclined can log in and see what products they’ll be receiving in their beauty bag before it even arrives at their door.  Seriously, Ipsy knows beauty box addicts!

Ispy March 2014

This month’s Ipsy bag features a front zip, rather than a top zip.  I’m not in love with the pattern or the feel of this bag, but the responsible adult in me appreciates that the thick, plastic fabric would help protect against spills if I was carrying this in my backpack and something broke,  So while the bag isn’t super-attractive, I will probably end up using it on all my trips!

Ispy March 2014 Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer

The first thing I pulled out of my bag was this Pixi Flawless Beauty primer.  This is pure rose gold coming out of the tube, and once applied it gives skin a truly fresh, peachy glow with just a hint of shimmer.  After being sent nail polish from fall 2012 in my last Topbox, it’s nice to receive a product from Ipsy that will be perfect for summer!  Value: $9.

Ispy March 2014 Nicole Opi Roughles

Next I found a tube of Nicole by OPI nail polish.  This is from their new “Roughles” collection.  Ipsy describes this polish as being a “speckled, pastel shade” that dries to “reveal a unique pebbled finish”.  Last night I painted my nails with an acid-wash denim theme, using shades of white and robin’s egg blue, with the palest pastel blue as a base.  Clearly I’m not too old for crazy blue nail polish yet, and like the primer this is a great product for spring.  Value: $8.

Ispy March 2014 Be a Bombshell eyeshadow

Next up I found an eyeshadow quad from Be a Bombshell.  I have not used cosmetics from this company before, but they seem to appear on the beauty box circuit regularly.  I am attracted to the bright blue shade already, but I’m not sure if the warm brown, gold and coral will flatter my pale, cool-toned skin.  Maybe if I get a (spray!) tan this summer I’ll be more inclined to give these shades a try. Value: $16.

Ispy March 2014 Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick

The last item in my bag was a sample of Marvelous Moxie lipstick by Bare Minerals.  I know I keep telling you that I’m over gloss and in love with lipstick, so this was a nice treat.  I was surprised by the small tube size so I tossed in the nail polish to give some context, but then I remembered that I have approximately one billion tubes of opened-but-unfinished lipstick kicking around my house and a mini is really all I need to try a new color! Value: $8.

Overall I am very happy with this month’s Ipsy bag.  Again.  I like that they treat their Canadian customers fairly, they deliver in a prompt manner, and they send good-sized samples that are appropriate for the current season.  The total value of the products I received was $41, compared to a $15 charge for the subscription (including international shipping to Canada).  New subscribers sometimes have to wait on a short list, but you can often skip the line by linking your Facebook and Ipsy accounts.

Links above are referral links only because I like Ipsy and I think you will too.
4 responses to “Unboxing: Ipsy March 2014

  1. I haven’t even seen my shipping email yet! They do send it to you guys early. I’m really excited about this bag!

  2. Thanks for this post! I subscribed for Ipsy too and still on the waiting list! This month’s bag looks good. Can’t wait to start getting mine soon.

  3. I had never heard of Ipsy before your post! I subscribe to Birchbox, but I think that Ipsy ,ought be better. The products are certainly larger anyway. Thanks for posting about your box, I just subscribed and can’t wait to get my first one!

Leave a Reply

