A Few Empties / April 2014

A few empties from my collection of beauty products.

Lots of beauty bloggers like to share their empty products before they toss them, and since Project Trash 10 / 20 is officially over, I thought I’d jump on the empties bandwagon!

I seem to have this weird habit of avoiding using up products.  When I get down to the last few drops my natural inclination is to stop using the project and save those drops just in case.  For the sake of my bathroom, and my sanity, I need to be more conscientious about using up what I have on hand before buying more.  So, what have I managed to part with recently?

Bath and Body Works Shower Gel in Japanese Cherry Blossom.  This was a gift and I still have quite a bit of the matching body lotion and body mist.  As a body wash this basic fruity-floral was neither hydrating nor drying, and the scent was light enough for me to layer a multitude of perfumes on top after showering.

Clean and Clear Continuous Control Acne Cleanser.  I love this face wash, which contains 5% benzyl peroxide.  When I’m working out regularly I tend to get breakouts on my chest (right along the neckline of my sports bra) and this clears them up almost immediately.  This is an absolute must-have in my shower.

Live Clean Fresh Face Cleansing Wipes.  These came in my Cosmetics Magazine Topbox last fall.  About a year before that I had actually won the rest of the Fresh Face skincare line, but this was the first product from the line that I used up!  I am lazy a fan of cleansing wipes and these were great to have on hand.

Nivea Essential Lip Balm.  This isn’t actually empty, but I’m tossing it anyways.  I received this in a beauty box (I can’t remember when) and I guess I didn’t use it quickly enough, as it seems to have experienced some kind of molecular meltdown and is now chunky and gooey.  Even in its pristine state I didn’t much like this balm- I definitely prefer Blistex Medicated Lip Ointment (in the white squeeze tube) and Maybelline Baby Lips.

Nexxus Youth Renewal Rejuvenating Elixir.  I received this sample in the mail from Shopper’s Drug Mart and was able to get about three treatments from the little vial.  I don’t think my hair is suffering the effects of aging quite yet (I’m not even thirty!) but this did smell wonderful.  If you’re looking for a great-smelling hair treatment this is the serum for you.

Belvada Coconut Lip Butter.  This was another Topbox letdown and another not-actually-empty.  This “lip butter” didn’t have any ingredients on the cheap, plastic packaging and it is not listed on Belvada’s website.  This actually dried out my lips so much that they felt like they were burning, and I read about other customers experiencing the same reaction.  Avoid.

Mai Couture Social Gloss.  Another not-empty!  I received this in a beauty box quite some time ago (maybe eighteen months?) and since then it has dried out and become clumpy.  I know we’re supposed to toss out makeup after a certain point, but I have some lip gloss that is much older than this (for example, a cherry-pink Bourjois lip gloss that I bought in Europe in 2005…) and still wears beautifully.

Joe Fresh Clear Mascara.  This was my go-to brow tamer for quite some time.  It grooms and glosses perfectly, and as soon as I use up the two samples I’ve got going at the moment (one is Benefit’s Gimme Brow, which I really dislike, and the other is the clear brow gel from Anastasia Beverly Hills) I will be re-purchasing this.

Leave a Reply

