Mealtime Monday: Oh, Hell No

Vegetarian lunch in Kaunas Lithuania

The “Republic” of Uzupis is not much more than a shantytown full of artists in Vilnius, Lithuania.  If you like seeing garbage bags wrapped around the stumps of tree trunks and tied with twine, you’ll love the neighborhood.  (Okay, it does have a rather cute constitution…)

I usually find the recommendations in the Like a Local guides to be pretty spot-on, but they really let me down when they sent me to Uzupis Kavine for lunch one day.  For the most part I’ve tried to block my meal at this riverside restaurant from my memory, but what I do recall is that they had two vegetarian choices and were not able to make the one I wanted.  Instead they suggested I order “Emir’s Dream”, which their menu describes as “fried aubergine, rice, parmesan cheese, oriental sauce”.  I should have walked away then and there, but I decided to risk it.  Big mistake.  Parmesan cheese, soy sauce, eggplant, rice, olives, canned corn and lettuce were never meant to go together.  Never.  The flavors and textures were horrifying.  I would have been better off untying a plastic bag from a tree stump and eating the plastic bag.

On the plus side the kvass was good.

Leave a Reply

