What Does Your Pinterest Page Say About You?

pinterest

This afternoon I took at my Pinterest page.  I looked at the boards that I had built about my favorite topics, like backpacking, luxury travel, beauty and global cuisine.  There was certainly nothing enlightening about that.

Then I took a look at some of my busiest boards.  What had I been pinning lately?

pinterest

Four tropical beaches and a beach in Ireland.  I can’t say I’d really given much though to Irish beaches before!

pinterest

I think that’s Iceland’s Blue Lagoon.  A floating hotel room in Moorea.  The Bahamas.  A swing-set at the beach.

pinterest

A luxurious pool in Italy.  Sandbars in Hawaii.  A pool in Morocco.

Are you starting to see a trend?

It would seem that my pinning habits don’t reflect my actual travel trends.  Even though I lust after these pictures of beautiful beaches, clear seas and cloudless skies I still end up booking trips to Peru in the dead of the South American winter.  I love the water, I love swimming, I love snorkeling, I’m a certified scuba diver but I still end up booking holidays in sketchy Eastern European towns and Andean mountains.

I know that I’m a bit dissatisfied with my life in general at the moment.  I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew with working full-time and being a full-time grad student, but at times I feel like I’ve bitten off something that I don’t want to chew anymore.  I wonder if spending a few days submerged in turquoise waters might be just what the doctor ordered.

With that in mind I’m going to issue myself a challenge.  I hereby pledge to visit a warm, sunny, tropical beach location sometime in the next 365 days.  I pledge to wear copious amounts of sunscreen, see a sea turtle and drink my own body weight in piña coladas.

I would love for you guys to share a link to your Pinterest pages and also to reflect on what they say about your own life!  Reply in the comments or blog about it and comment with the link!

Leave a Reply

