A Few More Empties / April 2014

empties april 2014

It’s early May and the snow is falling here in my Canadian city.  Screw summer, will spring ever arrive?  Since I have absolutely no desire to brave the freezing temperatures outside I thought I’d stay indoors and tidy up my empties drawer.  I used up a few different beauty products at the beginning of April, and made a concerted effort to use up even more throughout the rest of the month.  Here are some quick reviews!

Weleda Pomegranate Creamy Body Wash is a natural, moisturizing body wash.  I would pack this any time I was traveling to a delicate environmental area.  It has a crisp, unisex scent so any skincare-conscious traveling couples could pack it to share.

Dove Purely Pampering Nourishing Body Wash in Almond Cream with Hibiscus is another moisturizing body wash, though its ingredient list isn’t as earth-friendly as its Weleda competition.  I like the soft, feminine smell of this body wash and would often use it before layering on a gourmand perfume.

Olay Age Defying Protective Renewal Lotion is an affordable daily moisturizer with SPF 15.  I brought this with me to Mexico (albeit not on the sunny coast, and in the winter) and it kept me from burning even at high altitudes.  I occasionally mix in a bit of tinted moisturizer or illuminating lotion when I apply this lotion.

Polysporin Lip Protectant is a must-have for anyone traveling to a hot climate.  It is essential to protect not only the skin on your face, but also the skin on your lips, and this colorless balm delivers on its promise of SPF 30.

Ole Henriksen Truth Serum is supposed to be a mega-dose of Vitamin C to brighten and smooth skin.  I am probably not the target market for this product as I don’t yet have any serious signs of aging, but even so I was disappointed not to notice any improvement in my skin’s radiance at all while using this at least five times a week over about four months.  If you’re still in your twenties this is probably not worth the money.

Simple Eye Makeup Remover.  This eye makeup remover didn’t make any elaborate promises (unlike a certain eye makeup remover that I’m pretty sure doubled as a nail polish remover…) but it still did a great job of removing my eye makeup without ever causing irritation.  I usually remove my eye makeup with micellar water, but if I do buy eye makeup remover in the future I will probably purchase this brand.

Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation.  This isn’t actually empty.  I purchased it as part of a set along with the Truth Serum and an exfoliating night gel, and although it doesn’t expire until 2015 it seems to have gone bad.  The texture became as hard as candle wax and I could only remove it from the tub by scraping it off the edges with a fingernail (gross) or clean metal spoon.  While it was still a soft face cream I found it to be an acceptable hydrator, but it didn’t deliver any special results and the fact that I’ve had to throw out the last 10% means it was a pretty bad value.

Behind all of those products there are some Delon Cotton Rounds.  I purchased eight packages of these from Costco and typically use them to remove nail polish or eye makeup, and to apply micellar water when I cleanse in the evening.  I like that these cotton rounds have a soft side and a textured exfoliating side and will happily use up the other seven packs I have around the house!

empties april 2014

I used up a few more Korean skin care samples as well.  I found empties of the Missha Super Aqua Water-Full Cream (a cousin of the gel I reviewed here), which was an okay moisturizer, and Missha Time Revolution Immortal Youth Cream, which I liked much more.  The latter was rich and indulgent, and after using the sample one night and the following morning I saw a noticeable improvement in the look and feel of my skin.

Leave a Reply

