Unboxing: Ipsy May 2014

Ipsy-May-2014-bag

Yay!  My Ipsy May 2014 bag finally arrived!  I am usually very impressed by their shipping, but this month my bag sat at the border for almost ten days.  Couple that with a long weekend (no mail delivery) and I was green with envy watching everyone else unpack their bags online.  You can really see that Ipsy does try to tailor the contents of the bag to each subscriber’s beauty profile, which is one of the reasons I keep subscribing month after month!

In terms of the actual bag itself, the nature-themed pouch featured green leaves on a soft canvas fabric.  This is my favorite Ipsy bag to date and I already know that I’ll be using it as my  main makeup bag when I travel to Peru this summer.

Ipsy-May-2014-pacifica

The first item I removed from my May 2014 Ipsy bag was this Pacifica eyeshadow duo.  I’ve never had the opportunity to try out Pacifica products before so I’m really excited about this.  Last month I received a Coastal Scents eyeshadow brush that will be perfect for building up these colors.  $3.50

Ipsy-May-2014-evanyc

The next item had some real weight to it!  This is definitely what I would call a deluxe sample size, measuring in at sixty milliliters.  The Eva NYC Therapy Session Hair Mask promises to use keravis and argan oil to condition, repair and strengthen hair.  I had never heard of kervais, but a quick search reveals that it is a proprietary protein blend manufactured by an American chemical company… $5

Ipsy-May-2014-derma

The next item was a little bit of a letdown.  I received a Dr. Brandt microdermabrasion scrub last month, and I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet (I’m using up the last drops of my pricey Exfolikate first).  Although I think exfoliation is really important, I would have preferred a different type of product this month.  What about a moisturizer or a serum?  $16

Ipsy-May-2014-honey-sun

Two more little samples rounded out the bag.  As if I didn’t have enough exfoliating between the Dr. Brandt last month and the Derma-E already this month, I also received a Hey Honey “Exfoliating Honey Peel off Mask”.  I get that peel-off masks make your skin feel great in the short-term, but I’m not convinced that this is the best long-term exfoliating solution.  $7 (supposedly…)  Protecting your skin from the sun is essential, especially after exfoliating (as you don’t have that extra layer of dead skin to protect the healthy new skin underneath), so this Jersey Shore Sun Sans Tan sunscreen will be perfect.  As this is an eco-friendly, organic product the sample has a high value of $10.

There was one more item in my shiny pink envelope this month!

Ipsy-May-2014-bonus

I redeemed one thousand Ipsy points for this tube of bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie lipstick in “Light it Up”.  I think this is my first vibrant coral lip colour and I couldn’t resist applying it as soon as I cracked it open.  The formula was hydrating and the coral tone looked (very surprisingly!) good with my pale, cool skin.

While I’m a little overwhelmed with all of the exfoliating products I am still very pleased with my Ipsy bag this month and will definitely continue my subscription.  I paid $15 USD for Ipsy May 2014 bag (including shipping to Canada) and the products had a total value of over $40.  The free lipstick bumped the value of my Ipsy experience up to $60 this month!  Click here to subscribe (there might be a little wait list… don’t worry!) to start getting these amazing beauty steals for yourself!

Leave a Reply

