Mealtime Monday: My First Mushroom?

Vegetarian in Cluj Napoca

In retrospect, this may be the first time I ate a mushroom and enjoyed it.  At the pretentiously upscale Corso in Cluj-Napoca, Romania, I sat down for lunch on their patio and ordered a dish of “vegetables with tzatziki”.  As a vegetarian in Romania I was spoiled for choice, but this dish sounded the healthiest.  Needless to say, the fact that the vegetables would come battered and fried was a bittersweet surprise!

I love making my own delicious dips at home.  For a tzatziki similar to this one I will grate a garlic clove and some cucumber directly into a tub of plain Greek yogurt, then add a simple splash of lemon juice.  Sometimes I’ll stir in some dill as well.  Another fantastic dip is made from eggplant.  Pierce the whole eggplant a few times and then roast until it collapses.  Let it cool then scoop out the flesh and mash it with some tahini, plain Greek yogurt, lemon juice and a minced garlic clove.  It’s heaven.

The Eat-Clean Diet Vegetarian Cookbook has some great dip and sauce ideas, including a cilantro pesto that is to die for.

Leave a Reply

