Empties / May 2014

empties may 2014

I deserve a Nobel Prize (or at least a round of applause) for using up so many beauty products in May!   Some were stellar, some were horrifying.  We’ll go left to right, back row and then front row, to see which empties made the grade.

Skin Food Facial Water Vita-C Gel Mask.   This was the biggest disappointment in May.  Unlike other sheet masks with a pliable cotton base, this mask was made of thick, squishy plastic that made it hard to stay affixed to my face.  It was even harder for it to stay on my face in light of the fact that nearly all of the essence had dried up.  I ended up throwing it in the garbage and applying the next mask instead…

Etude House Zucchini Sheet Mask.  After the previous mask didn’t work I got out one of my trusty Etude House sheet masks.  This mask is supposed to be dense in nutrients and very hydrating.  I can’t speak to the nutrients, but it did leave my skin feeling softer for the rest of the day.

Holika Holika Baby Silky Foot Mask Sheet.  I finally caved and put on sandals.  This required extensive preparation, including painting toenails and hydrating heels with this mask.  It contains two sock-like masks that are safely sealed inside waterproof plastic bags.  You can slip your feet into the inner sock and walk around your house without getting the moisturizing cream onto the floor.  My feet were definitely softer but next time I will do more to prep the rough, dry skin on my heels first.

Guess Girl Belle Perfume.  This smelled a bit… inexpensive.  Opened heavy with berries then settled into florals.  Then disappeared, within a couple of hours.

Sally Hansen Maximum Strength Nail Polish Remover.  It got the polish off my nails.

The Face Shop Seaweed Mini Capsule Pack.  I didn’t know what I was buying when I ordered this.  It turned out to be a mask that targets acne-prone skin.  I would recommend it for anyone dealing with oily or acne-prone skin, but it wasn’t great for me.

Secret Smooth Solid Anti-Perspirant with Outland & Olay. This is my go-to antiperspirant and deodorant.  It fights odor and sweat, and has a neutral scent that doesn’t clash with my perfumes.

Madly by Kenzo Perfume.  This was shockingly unpleasant to my nose.  It was extremely heavy on the incense, leaving me smelling like a spice market all day.  I asked a few people if they liked my perfume and they all found it unpleasant as well.  This sample isn’t empty but I am throwing it out regardless.

Clinique Clarifying Lotion 2.  This is a classic, old-school toner that I used when I felt like my cleanser hadn’t quite removed all of my makeup.  It works, but not so much better than drugstore toners that I would repurchase.

Escada Cherry in the Air Perfume.  This perfume sample was much more pleasant.  It was almost a single note of bright, fresh cherry that was perfect for fresh spring days.  I would definitely repurchase, but as it was a limited edition it might involve some hunting.

Kerastase Bain Satin Shampoo.  This was absolutely amazing, especially when used in conjunction with the matching conditioner (I am hoarding the last few drops of the conditioner but will share it next month).  It had a surprising herbal scent and left my hair feeling soft, hydrated and full of life.  I will definitely be repurchasing this set shortly.

Narcisso Rodriguez for Her Perfume.  This was another enjoyable perfume sample.  It’s a musky rose scent that smells expensive.  I’d wear this to a gala… if someone invited me.

KMS Free Shape Blow Dry Spray.  This spray is supposed to reduce blow dry time by up to 50%.  I definitely noticed that it reduced drying time during the winter, but now that it’s late spring and the air is humid I haven’t been seeing as much difference.  However, if I saw this on sale I would probably grab a full-sized bottle.

Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment.  A nice serum that is on par with Moroccan Oil and similar treatments.  The smell is a touch masculine, though, so I would probably buy Moroccan Oil over replenishing this.

Kate Somerville ExfoliKate.  This was a wonderful exfoliant that lasted forever.  Even with weekly use this little tube lasted about a year, faithfully using its powerful enzymes to slough off any dead skin on my face and leaving my skin ready for anything (serums, moisturizers, sunscreens, makeup, etc.).  I will definitely repurchase this size next time I’m at Sephora.

2 responses to “Empties / May 2014

  1. atticusprimped

    I love skin food products! I highly recommend the Skinfood Salmon Brightening Eye Cream.
    Thanks for checking out my blog!

    http://atticusprimped.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

