What Are Your Peru Itinerary Tips?

salt flats peru

This July I will be visiting Peru for three weeks.  So far I don’t have much on my Peru itinerary: I’ve booked my first night’s accommodation at a hostel in Lima, and then a few days later I have a two-night booking at the Hotel Paracas near Pisco.  After that my schedule is wide open until I fly out of Cuzco on the 23rd.

I’m open to pretty much anything, as long as it’s logical (I don’t want to fly across the country a bunch of times to do this or that).  Hiking the Inca Trail isn’t a huge attraction for me, but I was thinking of visiting Machu Picchu for a day (it seems criminal not to go, right?).  I’m also trying to decide if it’s worth going into the jungle for just a few days, or if I’d be better off returning in a year or two and visiting the Amazon and/or Pantanal properly.  I would also like to spend at least one day and night in a town or village that doesn’t see a lot of tourism, and of course, I’m always on the lookout for interesting local beauty treatments.

If you’ve been to Peru and have any suggestions about how I should design the ultimate Peru itinerary, please share below!  If you’ve blogged about your own trip, share that too!

Photo Credit

One response to “What Are Your Peru Itinerary Tips?

  1. I spent 6 weeks in Peru in 2011. The first 2 weeks I spent in the jungle, and I absolutely loved it. However, the bus ride was absolutely terrible, extremely dangerous, and I felt like we could have easily gotten robbed because it was so remote. I’d probably save that for another trip when you have more time, unless you have a tour in mind. Besides Cusco, I also visited Arequipa and Puno to go on a tour of Lake Titicaca. Arequipa is a beautiful city, very different from the rest of Peru. I didn’t get the chance to visit, but I hear Huacachina is well worth a visit too.

Leave a Reply

