Empties – July 2014

empties-july-2014

July came and went so quickly!  I used up most of these beauty products before I left for Peru, but didn’t have time to get the post up until my return.  While I was gone I used up a few more travel-sized products as well, but for the sake of my luggage I tossed those in the trash before I came home.  A lot of this stuff had been kicking around for quite some time, so I’m happy to see it go!  Back row (as best I can) then front row, left to right.

Live Clean Foaming Daily Cleanser – I won this ages ago and it took forever to use up.  This was an acceptable daily face wash but it wasn’t a favorite and I won’t repurchase.

Jason Smoothing Sea Kelp Shampoo – I don’t even want to tell you when this actually expired, which is extra gross as it’s a natural product that doesn’t contain the same kinds of preservatives you would normally find in a hair care product.  I really liked this shampoo, and the matching conditioner, but I found the giant bottle a bit demotivating as it sat in my shower for literally years.  Fortunately, there is a smaller bottle on the market now!

Balea Shave Gel with Lanolin – Yikes.  The texture of this didn’t agree with my skin, the water or my razor.  It made shaving a hassle and I will definitely not be buying this again (no matter how cheap it is!).

Garnier Skin Renew Dark Spot Treatment Mask – I don’t have dark spots, but I still appreciated this sheet mask for its hydrating serum.  I was less impressed by the actual shape of the mask, and no matter how I re-adjusted the sheet it was always tickling the corner of my right eye?

The Body Shop Shea Body Scrub – I like this scrub’s shea butter scent, but I always found the salt crystals to leave a bit of a “fresh out of the ocean” film on my skin.

Free Spirit Botanicals Mermaid Magic Sea Salt Scrub – It’s weird that the Body Shop’s scrub would leave a weird film on my skin when this one, which is much richer in sea salt, doesn’t.  This is my favorite body scrub, both for its amazing ocean scent and its hydrating oil blend.  I buy it in huge quantities whenever I am visiting the shop, but you can also order it online.

Dermalogica Daily Microexfoliant – This is of questionable age as well.  I think I received it in a Glymm box… remember those?  I liked the gentle texture of this exfoliant and felt that it left my skin well-prepared for any ensuing applications of creams or serums.

Kerastase Lait Vital Conditioner – There was a shampoo that went with this (Bain Satin), but I must have tossed it.  I loved these products!  Even though the shampoo had sulphates, when I washed and conditioned my hair with these I swear that my hair actually came alive!  It was soft, shiny, bouncy… perfect.  I will definitely repurchase both of these the next time I’m at a salon.

Benefit Gimme Brow – This was like a fiber mascara for eyebrows.  The bottle I had went on clumpy and gave me the dreaded “spider lashes” in my eyebrows!  I’ll stick to clear brow gel from now on!

Biore Even Smoother Microderm Exfoliator – This one was definitely a few years old as well.  I loved the tiny grains in this facial scrub, and the results were comparable with much more expensive products.  Unfortunately, I think this has been discontinued, but you can still buy it online.

Elizabeth Arden Beautiful Color Lash Enhancing Mascara in Black – A perfectly decent “no mascara” mascara.  If you don’t want it to look like you’re wearing mascara, this is the formula for you.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Sunscreen SPF 55 – I love little samples of sunscreen that I can toss in my purse.  This kept me from burning and didn’t break me out… works for me!

Anastasia Beverly Hills Lip Gloss – The tiniest lip gloss sample I have ever seen.  It was like some sort of exquisite miniature that should have been on display in a museum.  I got about two or three uses out of it, and overall found the texture and color to be acceptable, but not amazing.  But still, the tiny tube!

Aveeno Protect and Hydrate Sunscreen SPF 30 – I love little samples of sunscreen that I can toss in my purse.  This kept me from burning and didn’t break me out… works for me!  (Yes, I know!)

Viva La Juicy Noir – A generic, sweet and fruity perfume.  Not the right fit in my perfume collection.

Josie Maran Argan Oil – I owe Josie big time for introducing me to argan oil, which I use for all sorts of things but mainly mix into my moisturizer in the dry winter months.  I have a second bottle of this from a Sephora gift set, and will use it up, but when it’s time to repurchase I have found numerous argan oil wholesalers online (for example, New Directions Aromatics) who sell organic argan oil at a significantly lower price.

* Links to the products I liked!

Leave a Reply

