Unboxing : Ipsy August 2014

ipsy-august-2014-bag

What was the best part of my day?  Sitting in the nail salon and receiving an email with shipping notification for my Ipsy August 2014 bag, then clicking through to discover that the status was “Item Successfully Delivered”!  It took every ounce of self-restraint not to jump out of the chair mid-pedicure to run home to my mailbox!

So, what was inside?

ipsy-lord-berry-liner

The first thing I pulled out of the orange and white bag was this Lord and Berry Mini Kajal Kohl Liner in Black Silk.  I’m a huge fan of Sephora’s house brand black kohl liner and am happy to have another one on hand.    I tested this on my wrist and it went on like silk with very little pressure needed.

ipsy-manna-sheer-glo

The next item I unpacked was this Manna Sheer Glo Shimmer Lotion.  I’m thirty years old and I work in a professional environment, so I don’t tend to use a lot of shimmery products.  That being said this pinkish lotion contains very fine shimmer particles, so I might be able to mix it with my body lotion on my upcoming tropical vacation.

ipsy-jersey-shore-balm

Up next was this Jersey Shore Sun Mongongo Nutrient Dense Anti-Aging Lip Conditioner.  It has a fresh and fruity scent which the packaging credits to “Mandarin Green Orange Ginger”.  I was a bit confused by that but apparently it’s “Mandarin Green Orange” and “Ginger” essential oils that give this product its kick.  I received a sample of Jersey Shore Sun sunscreen a few months ago and really liked it; I wish this balm also offered some sun protection.

The next two items were the “big ticket” products in the Ipsy August 2014 bag!

ipsy-glam-glow

First, there was a half-ounce sample of Glam Glow YouthMud Tinglexfoliate Treatment.  I’ve received Glam Glow samples in the past and not used them up before they dried up on their own, so I’ll be using this ASAP.  I read online that this sample alone is worth $21, more than making up for the cost of the subscription (which is $15 USD including shipping to Canada).

ipsy-urban-decay-mascara

The final product was a 3 ml sample of Urban Decay’s new “bigger, blacker, badder” (ummm…) Perversion Mascara, packaged in a booklet promising to help me “dominate” my lashes.  I can never have too many mascara samples so I will be filing this, and all of its innuendos, away for future enjoyment.

Once again I feel like Ipsy considered my beauty profile when it prepared my beauty bag, and I feel that the bag was a good value compared to the purchase price.  I’m especially happy about the quick shipping to Canada again this month.  If you’d like to receive a bag filled with beauty goodies each month head on over to Ipsy.com.  (If there happens to be a waitlist you can often skip it by sharing your new subscriber status on Facebook.)

Do you subscribe to Ipsy?  What did you get this month?

One response to “Unboxing : Ipsy August 2014

  1. I’ve nominated you for the lovely blog award! Check it out here:
    http://rachwat.wordpress.com/2014/08/14/the-lovely-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

