Mealtime Monday: Deconstructed Huevos Rancheros

huevos rancheros honduras

I like it when my breakfast is three-dimensional.  In Honduras I was served up “huevos rancheros” with soft-scrambled eggs on a thick tortilla.  The refried beans were on the side, with three spiky strips of crispy tortillas sticking up into the air.  There was also a little spicy salsa for dipping and drizzling, and a glass of pink lemonade for when the salsa got too hot!

When I’m traveling I I love to eat eggs for breakfast, whether it’s in huevos mexicanos, a vegetable omelet or a cheesy biscuit sandwich.  They really are the perfect source of vegetarian protein!

Leave a Reply

