Unboxing – Ipsy September 2014

ipsy-september-2014-1

Things that make me happy: deliveries that arrive early!  Ipsy allowed me to take a sneak peek at what would be included in my glam bag this month, so I’ve known for a week or two what would be inside.  Initially I wasn’t particularly excited, but when I opened up the pretty pink envelope this afternoon I was pleasantly (un)surprised by the contents.  (I was also surprised by the cute gray bag they were packed in; I really like the understated look, and the weirdly-soft feel, of this month’s makeup bag!)

ipsy-september-2014-2

My Ipsy September 2014 glam bag included three different color cosmetics.  Cailyn is not a brand I have seen outside of Ipsy, but this tube of lipgloss (in the shade “Basic Instinct”) looks like the perfect neutral to keep in my desk drawer.  I also received a mini Pacifica eye pencil in “Fringe”, a basic brown.  It’s been a while since I used a liner that wasn’t black, so this might be a welcome change to my eye makeup routine.  Finally, I received a NYX eyeshadow in “Asphyxiation”, a shimmery navy blue.  I can definitely see myself using this with a damp eyeliner brush to line my eyes for an evening out.

ipsy-september-2014-3

My Ipsy glam bag also included two products that weren’t makeup.  First, there was an eyeshadow brush by Crown Brush.  This dual-ended brush has a regular shadow brush on one side, and a crease-specific brush on the other end.  I have a few eyeshadow palettes that I haven’t opened up yet, and this new brush will make blending and softening the colours that much easier.  The last product is a Briogeo “Don’t Despair, Repair” hair mask.  I still have a hair mask by Eva NYC that I received a few glam bags ago, but with winter coming up and my hair being colour-treated, I know this will be used very shortly!

Ipsy subscriptions cost about $15 US per month when shipped to Canada.  They always arrive promptly and they do consider your beauty profile when deciding which products to send.  It’s super-easy to subscribe here, and remember that you can usually skip the waiting list by sharing your subscriber status on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

