Unboxing: A Gift from Hudson’s Bay

hudsons bay beauty gift

The other day I saw a Tweet from @davelackie about a special event at a department store near my mom’s house.  To me, listening to a one-hour presentation about makeup and then taking home a goody bag full of $150 worth of free beauty products is the perfect mother-daughter bonding experience, so I signed us both up for some of the limited, reserved seating and made the drive to my parents’ house for the weekend.

The presentation itself was okay.  Dave Lackie is one of my favorite people to follow on Twitter because he’s always giving away great prizes to his followers (I have yet to win, sadly), and he was joined at the Hudsons Bay-sponsored event by a makeup artists from the UK named Nina Westbury.  Dave did most of the talking during the presentation (he was enthusiastic and definitely aware of runway trends), which allowed my mom and I to focus intently on Nina’s own makeup.  I’m not sure if she’d done her makeup “for the cameras” or something, but her stripey blush and heavy-handed eyeshadow didn’t exactly inspire confidence.  Nina does seem to have experienced professional success, so maybe she’s one of those people who is better at doing other people’s makeup than her own.

The highlight of the event, obviously, was the goody bag valued at $150.  We were able to pick them up after the presentation inside the store.  We waited until we were home to open the bags, and I was happy to discover I’d need the  help of some old jewelry boxes to take a two-tiered photo of everything that was inside for you!  My goody bag included:

  • Thierry Mugler Womanity (mini bottle)
  • Nina Ricci L’Air du Temps (mini bottle with birds on the stopper!)
  • Philosophy Living Grace
  • Yves Saint Laurent Baby Doll mascara (trial size, not in photo as used immediately!)
  • Philosophy Hope in a Jar
  • Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Skin Balancing Lotion
  • St. Tropez One Night Only Body Lotion (retail travel size)
  • Lise Watier lipgloss (I think I received the same shade in a beauty box a year ago?)
  • Biotherm Blue Therapy Serum-in-Oil
  • Origins Ginzing moisturizer (sachet)
  • Clinique Repairware Laser Focus
  • Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair
  • Clarins eye makeup remover
  • Lancome Advanced Genifique
  • Roger & Gallet Fleur de Figuier body wash, body lotion and perfume vial
  • A huge black and white makeup case

So basically I’ll never get another wrinkle in my life, and I’ll probably smell pretty good too.

This event is over and I doubt there will be a second opportunity to get exactly the same bag from Hudson’s Bay.  However, companies are always looking for opportunities to connect loyal (or just interested!) customers with samples of free beauty products.  To find out about similar events and giveaways in your own area, use social media like Instagram and Twitter to follow the big beauty insiders, and the upscale beauty vendors, in your area.  Following indie or niche beauty brands is a good idea too.  When you make a purchase at a department store or beauty boutique, don’t be afraid to ask for samples of other products you might be interested in purchasing.  You can also sign up with sites like Influenster, who help companies find potential customers to review and share their products.

Leave a Reply

