Holiday Gifts for Beautiful Travelers

The weather outside is frightful (-20 degrees!) and the drive to the mall on icy roads is anything but delightful.  Still, I braved the bad weather and headed to my nearest mega-mall, where I spent zero dollars and even got a free Starbucks coffee (thanks to the man who paid it forward by leaving hundreds of dollars on a gift card for the customers who came after him!).  I just wasn’t in the shopping mood today, and thought that perhaps instead of shopping for myself I could help you guys find the perfect holiday gifts for travelers and holiday gifts for girls who love beauty, so if you’re shopping for someone who loves travel and/or beauty, consider these gift ideas!

An Ipsy Subscription

ipsy april 2014

Ipsy is my current favorite subscription beauty program.  Each month they send me a customized beauty bag filled with four or five sample products (check out what I received in September and August).  These little samples help me identify the products that I love (and hate!), and are absolutely perfect for tossing into my backpack when I go traveling.  Ipsy subscriptions would also make a great gift for a young woman who is just beginning to learn about beauty.  Of course, you can buy a subscription for yourself or gift one to a friend.  For more information, or to sign up, click visit Ipsy.

A Year of Wanderlust

1001 places calendar

The 1001 Places to See Before You Die calendar has been a staple on my wall for years (this month’s destination is Utah, USA!).  The calendar is available in a beautiful wall-hanging format with a photo for every day of the month, or a desktop page-a-day format with even more beautiful images.  This is the perfect gift for anyone who has expressed interest in planning a trip to visit somewhere new, as well as anyone who loves to travel but will probably spend 2015 closer to home for professional, personal or financial reasons.  (This is probably not a good gift for someone in ill health, for obvious reasons…)

A Camera with GPS

tallinn shopping

Where in the world did I take that photo?  If it weren’t for my camera’s built in GPS, I would probably have no idea.  I used to come home from holidays with thousands of photos and no idea where each was from, but now a simple click of a button allows me to plot each and every photo on the map, oftentimes to within a meter or two of the exact place I was standing.  I am a die-hard Canon camera fan and would recommend the PowerShot SX280 for classic camera lovers, or a model like the D30 for those who might want to take their camera underwater.  Remember that when GPS is turned on it can drain the camera’s battery quickly, so it might be nice to toss in spare battery too (and remind the giftee to turn off the GPS before bed each night!).

Hostel Essentials

hostel dorm room

Every beautiful backpacker needs a microfiber towel for those morning when they have little time between the shower and the train (or plane, or boat, or bus…).  It’s also essential to have a cable lock and combination lock; the former will secure your pack to the luggage storage area on a train or in a hostel, while the latter will keep your laptop, wallet and passport securely in the provided lockers.

An Inspiring Travel Book

From linguistics to alcohol abuse, happiness-hunting to following in the footsteps of dictators, there is an inspiring travel story for every reader on your list.  Click through for a list of my favorites.

Travel-Sized Beauty Favorites

nuxe1

While Ipsy is a great way to test out all sort of new products, if you know there is a brand that someone loves, why not gift them an entire travel set from that line, so that they can take their favorites with them wherever they go?  This kit from Nuxe is one of my favorites, but I also love this eco-friendly kit from Burt’s Bees and the Happy Travels set from Philosophy.

A Dream Come True

Via Faisal Photography / Flickr

If you’ve got more money than you know what to do with, send some my way!  After you’ve sent some my way, then you can splurge on an amazing travel experience.  How about a Round the World plane ticket with Star Alliance?  Or a six-month cruise around the world?

Are you a beautiful traveler?  What would you love to receive this holiday season? 

Leave a Reply

