Unboxing – Ipsy December 2014

Ipsy-December-2014

I think I forgot to do my unboxings last month, which is unfortunate as it was a pretty good month for Ipsy and I also got to celebrate my final Topbox.  I replaced my Topbox with Birchbox Canada; my first Canadian Birchbox is in the mail and should arrive this week (for details on this new Canadian beauty box check out Birchbox’s Canadian site).

I was happy as soon as I cut into Ipsy’s signature bright-pink bubble envelope, as I could see my beauty products were packed in a tasteful black bag with a cute pink zipper that added a little pizazz.  Inside, I found the following products:

Sexy Hair 450° Blow Out Heat Defense Blow Dry Spray Mini.  I already have quite a few different heat-protecting products that I like, but none in a perfect travel size.  I will take this with me when I travel over the Christmas holidays!

Beauty Without Cruelty AHA 3% Facial Cleanser.  I’m kind of obsessed with acids at the moment, so I’m really excited to give this facial cleanser a try.  Alpha-hydroxy acid is great for exfoliating and removing impurities; I might pack this when I travel to Central America next spring as it will be perfect for cleaning up salt- and sunscreen-coated skin.

Cailyn Cosmetics Just Mineral Eye Polish in Orchid.  I am not a big fan of shimmery eyeshadow colors, but this is an interesting product in that Cailyn has managed to make loose eyeshadow practically mess-proof in this inkwell-inspired pot with a wand applicator.

Tarte Deluxe Lights, Camera, Action 4-in-1 Mascara.  I just used up a sample of Benefit mascara and might open this one next.  Tarte promises that this black mascara is going to increase the volume of my lashes by 330%… hopefully I will still be able to open my eyes!

NYX Butter Lip Balm in Marshmallow.  I first became addicted to NYX’s Butter Gloss through Ipsy; now I own a handful of different shades.  I’m really looking forward to trying their version of a lip balm.  I received Marshmallow, which is described as a pure nude shade, but all of the options that Ipsy sent this month look awesome.  If this feels as good as Butter Gloss then I might have found an upgrade for my Baby Lips!

Ipsy costs $15 USD including shipping to Canada.  For more information or to subscribe visit Ipsy’s site.

One response to “Unboxing – Ipsy December 2014

  1. I just signed up for Ipsy (haven’t gotten the box yet) — but overall would you say you like it better than Birchbox? I’ve heard some people say that Birchbox slacks a little after month one.

Leave a Reply

