Unboxing – Birchbox Canada December 2014

birchbox-canada-december-2014-1

Oh, hi there, Birchbox Canada.  Nice to meet you!

Canadian beauty box subscribers have been burned by Gymm, left behind by Glossybox, had their shipments reduced by Luxe Box and been disappointed by Topbox.  It seems that for Canadian beauty box addicts, looking to well-known US boxes (like Ipsy) is the only answer.  Starting this month, Canadian subscribers now have access to one of the biggest beauty boxes in the USA- Birchbox.

My Birchbox Canada shipped via UPS and arrived above five days after I received the initial shipping notification.  The box cost $14.95 USD… let’s look inside and see what fifteen dollars will get a Canadian!

birchbox-canada-december-2014-3

The first thing I found inside the box was a sample of Benefit Lollitint, a lip and cheek stain in a bright pink color.  This 2.5 ml sample has a retail value of about $8.

birchbox-canada-december-2014-6

The Lollitint was packed in a separate cardboard pouch along with this Cynthia Rowley eyeliner pencil in black.  It’s great to get a chance to sample this exclusive brand in Canada!  This travel-sized sample is worth about $12.

birchbox-canada-december-2014-4

When I signed up for Birchbox Canada I had the opportunity to tell them my fragrance preferences.  If you could see my vanity you would know that in my world there is no such thing as too much perfume!  Rather than get a sample of one of Harvey Prince’s famous perfumes, I received a sample of their Hello Body Cream in a fresh lemon scent.  It’s hard to know the exact value of this sample, but similar sized products are sold directly by Harvey Prince for $1.

birchbox-canada-december-2014-5

Next up was a Vasanti Exfoliating Cleanser that helps renew skin with the help of papaya, microcrystals and aloe.  This product has appeared in other beauty boxes before (including Birchbox USA in February 2013!), but it’s new to me and I love exfoliating, so I don’t mind.  This one is worth about $5.

birchbox-canada-december-2014-2

The last product inside my Birchbox Canada for December 2014 was this Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Leave-In Conditioner.  I like the idea of packing this for my upcoming beach holiday, as it looks like it would help revive my hair after exposure to the sun and sea.  This sample is worth about $4.

Overall, the total value of my Birchbox Canada in December 2014 is about $30.  I will probably use all of the products at least once or twice, which means that Birchbox Canada is off to a really good start!  If you’re in Canada and want more information about this new beauty box subscription, visit Birchbox Canada!

(Check yesterday’s post if you want to compare Ipsy’s bag in December 2014 with this month’s Birchbox Canada… it’s impossible for me to decide which one I prefer this month!)

Leave a Reply

