Unboxing – Ipsy January 2015

This unboxing is very late!  I am expecting my February 2015 Ipsy bag to arrive in a few days, but I’m just now getting around to sharing my bag from Ipsy in January.  I’m sorry!

unboxing-ipsy-january-2015-a

January 2015 might have been my least favorite month with Ipsy yet.  (On the plus side, I’ve seen what I’m getting in February and it looks a lot better!)  All of the goods were packed in a cute makeup bag that was white on one side and blue on the other, with an orange zip across the top.  Inside, I found five products.

  • Velvet 59 Velvet Rose Lipgloss in Noisette.  I’ve never heard of this brand before and, to be honest, I have more nude lipgloss than I could ever need. The brand claims that this retails for $19, but I have a hard time believing anyone ever bought it for that price.
  • Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eyeshadow.  I’m pretty sure I received the same eyeshadow back in May 2014, and I haven’t opened that one either (I actually tried to give it to my mom, but she didn’t want it…).  It’s not that I don’t like Pacifica or the shade, it’s that I have lots of nude eyeshadow that is already open that I am committed to using up.  Also, I kind of prefer matte shades for their staying power.  Retail price unknown as I can only find it as part of a palette that is about $13.
  • Hikari Mechanical Eyeliner in Storm.  Sadly, this one didn’t get great reviews over on Ipsy, which is why I’ve delayed opening it.  I like the idea of a slate gray liner, but I’m seeing a lot of feedback suggesting that this doesn’t go on smoothly.  This apparently retails for $13.
  • Elizabeth Mott Eyeshadow Brush.  This is the third eyeshadow brush I’ve received from Ipsy, so I haven’t bothered opening it.  It sells for $10.
  • Eco-Beauty by LA Fresh Day Moisturizer.  I used to get a lot of LA Fresh stuff in my Beauty Box 5, and I was never a big fan.  I would be worried about putting their products on my face were it not for the good reviews from other Ipsy subscribers.  Sadly, this “day moisturizer” doesn’t have any SPF, so it’s best for people who spend their days in caves and other dark places.  The full size of this retails for $40, but for that price I’d go to a department store and get a great day moisturizer with SPF during one of their upscale brands’ bonus offers.

Despite the high retail value of all of the products in my bag this month, I will get little use out of them (and, I suspect the prices might be a little inflated).  A friend of mine is a high school drama teacher and I might just donate these products to their stage makeup collection.  Except for one product, that is!

unboxing-ipsy-january-2015-b

There was one other product in my Ipsy bag in January 2015!  I redeemed some Ipsy rewards points for this NYX Butter Lip Balm in Ladyfinger.  I loved the texture of the Butter Lip Balm that I received in an earlier bag, but the shade (Marshmallow) was very pale and had yellow undertones that didn’t flatter my pale, cool-toned skin.  This Ladyfinger gloss is going to look a lot better, and it’s probably going to be the first thing I open and use this month!

Overall it was a bit of a disappointing month from Ipsy, and the sting is a little stronger considering that with the dropping Canadian dollar the cost of the bag has got closer to $20 CAD for subscribers in Canada.  However, I’m excited about my February bag (I’m expecting blush, perfume and face oil, plus some other goodies!) and will definitely stay subscribed for a while longer.

Leave a Reply

