Unboxing – Ipsy March 2015

ipsy-march-2015-1

Once again I’m super-late with my unboxing.  This time it’s because I was on holidays when my Ipsy March 2015 bag arrived.  Lately my bag has been arriving later than my friends’ bags, and I’m wondering if it’s because I’ve redeemed some of my Ipsy points for free products that they haven’t been receiving?  It seems weird that every month my neighbors get their bags about a week before me, but I’ll let it slide since I’m getting extra free stuff!

ipsy-march-2015-2

This month I had to scramble around my house looking for the products that were in my Ipsy March 2015 bag, because I’d already opened up most of them and started using them!

The first product that I received was a Pur-Lisse soy-based facial cleanser.  I’ve received this product from a different beauty box in the past and found it to be a great, gentle skin cleanser.  I will definitely be packing this one-ounce sample in my carry-on baggage on my next trip.  This is worth about $6.50 (I’ll share the values in US dollars, even though I’m a Canadian beauty box subscriber…)

Next, I received a Dr. Brandt anti-aging mattifying lotion.  I haven’t tried this yet, but I liked the texture of the last Dr. Brandt product I tried (the microdermabrasion scrub) and will give this a shot when the temperature rises and my skin looks a little shiny.  The value of this sample is about $9.

I’ve already opened my tube of Boo Boo Cover concealer in medium.  I got a little bit of color on my recent holiday (even though I applied and reapplied SPF 60 all day, every day!) and this concealer was a good match for my skin.  I was surprised that the texture was a little bit runny, but the coverage provided was good.  This one is worth $8.

I had also already tried out my new NYX Butter Lipstick in Hunk.  This one is dark purple in the tube but a wearable grape-berry shade on the lips.  The formula feels soft (and buttery, I suppose!) on my lips, but I am definitely jealous of the Ipsters who received a more spring-like shade.  I’ll be saving this one for fall; it’s worth about $6.

Up front there is a little compact full of Vintage by Jessica Liebeskind  illuminating face highlighter .  This isn’t a brand I’ve heard of and I wasn’t able to find a price online; I’m going with an estimate of about $5.  I think there’s something kind of funny about receiving a mattifying lotion and a shimmer powder in the same bag.  I will probably hold off on using this… indefinitely.

ipsy-march-2015-3

As I mentioned, I redeemed some of my Ipsy points (which you can get from reviewing products and sharing what you get on social media) for this Malin + Goetz mojito lip balm.  Some subscribers received this a month or two ago, and I was so jealous that I had to get one of my own!  It’s already become one of my favorite balms.  This retails for $12!

Overall, the value of my regular bag (minus the bonus balm) was about $35 US, while I paid $15 US.  With the plummeting value of the Canadian dollar Ipsy bags have been a little bit more expensive lately, but my last two bags have been so full of good products that I don’t mind.  If you’re interested in subscribing, head straight to Ipsy.

(Check back later in the week for my Birchbox Canada March 2015 unboxing, which inspired me to cancel my subscription that that beauty box!)

 

Leave a Reply

