Unboxing – Ipsy May 2015

Ipsy-May-2015-1

Now that I’ve canceled my Birchbox Canada subscription, Ipsy is the only beauty box I am still receiving each month.  This month I received my shipping notification on the 11th and my bag arrived at my house in Canada two days later!  I love fast, cross-border shipping!

This month my Ipsy bag contained five products, plus a cute little bonus.  Three of the products were long and narrow: a Luxie eyeshadow brush, an Urban Decay lip liner and a Chella brow pencil.

Ipsy-May-2015-2

The eyeshadow brush is probably my least favorite product this month.  I have already received a handful of shadow brushes from Ipsy in the year I’ve been subscribed, and to be honest I rarely use them.  I would love to receive some different brushes, rather than more of the same type.  How about a lip brush to go with the bonus sample this month?  The Luxie eyeshadow brush retails for $12.

The Urban Decay lip liner isn’t necessarily something I would have paid for myself, but I think it will actually be quite useful when I’m doing my makeup for an evening out or other special event.  I own quite a few deep nude lipliners already, but this clear version will work with a wider variety of lip colors (including some of the neons I’ve been into lately).  I’ve read that this 0.8 gram sample has a value of about $15.

Last, the Chella eyebrow pencil in Tantalizing Taupe is something I’m definitely willing to try.  This is a full-size product worth $18. At first glance the color doesn’t look too warm or orange (a problem with many one-size-fits-all brow pencils), which is a plus.

Ipsy-May-2015-3

The other two products in my Ipsy May 2015 glam bag were Klorane Smoothing and Relaxing patches for eyes, and Cotz Face tinted sunscreen.  I received two sets of the eye patches (worth about $5 total), which promise to “refresh, moisturize and brighten tired eyes”.  I have a feeling I’ll be packing these on my summer holiday!  I have never heard of Cotz Face before, but I am always happy to receive sunscreen samples that I can throw in my purse while I’m traveling. Exactly one year ago I received a fantastic sample of Jersey Shore Sans Tan mineral sunscreen, which has traveled with me to two continents and provided exceptional sun protection; I’m hoping this Cotz Face product will be just as awesome.  This sample is worth about $4.

Ipsy-May-2015-4

The Urban Decay lip liner came packaged with two little foil samples of a new Urban Decay lipgloss.  These are bonus products on top of the regular five that all subscribers receive.  I can’t wait to try the purple!

Ipsy-May-2015-5

And of course, all of my products this month came packaged inside a cute little makeup bag.  There were three different versions this month, each in a cloth bag featuring images and text by Breakups to Makeup.  These are mini versions of the brand’s full-size makeup clutches that retail for about $40!

The total value of my bag this month was about $55 USD, and I paid $14.95 USD (including shipping to Canada).  As always, the fluctuating exchange rate means that Canadian subscribers see varying amounts on their credit card bill each month, but regardless of how low the dollar drops I still think Ipsy is worth it.  After all, I’ve cancelled Topbox, Glymm, Glossybox Canada, Luxe Box and Birchbox Canada, but stuck with Ipsy after all of these months.  That’s got to say something, right?

If you’re interested in subscribing, follow my link here and remember that you can usually skip the waitlist with a simple share on social media.  If you’ve got questions about subscribing to Ipsy as a Canadian, leave a comment and I’ll get right back to you!

Leave a Reply

