Mealtime Monday – Are My Eyes Deceiving Me?

Bagel Cafe in Gdansk Poland / Vegetarian Lunch

Wandering around Gdansk, Poland in the rain, still feeling the sniffles, I started to worry that I was also experiencing hallucinations.  You see, in front of me there was a sign advertising bagels.  When I’m home sick in Canada I will often drive myself through the Tim Horton’s drive through and order “one wheat and honey bagel, toasted with herb and garlic cream cheese, please.”  And here I was, halfway around the world, slightly buzzed on cold medication, with bagels right in front of me!  Of course I had to go inside the restaurant (I think it was called the Amsterdam Bar) and order a lunch combo, with a bagel, cream cheese (I think they mixed in some sun-dried tomatoes?) and a little Greek salad.  Sure, it wasn’t an artisan bagel, but it was just what I needed to feel a little less miserable.  (The ice cream I ate for dessert helped a bit, too!)

Leave a Reply

