Unboxing – Ipsy September 2015

ipsy-september-2015 It’s been so long since I’ve done an unboxing!  Two Ipsy bags arrived while I was out of the country, and I was so excited to open them that I forgot which items came in which bag (I mean, I know I could check my Glam Room to get it all organized, but I am using the jet-lag excuse!).  I’ve actually already started using some of the things I received over the summer, such as an Ofra lipliner in a beautiful wine shade, but was especially excited to receive my September 2015 Ipsy bag in the mail today!

ipsy-september-2015-c

The first thing I discovered in my Ipsy bag was a limited-edition NYX eyeshadow palette designed just for Ipsy.  The colors are shimmery champagne, warm medium brown and deep chestnut, which will be great for fall (especially if I can extend my tan a little bit longer!).  Similar palettes retail for about $5.

Next, I found a City Color City Chic lipstick in Je T’aime.  This is a neutral shade that leans slightly towards the warmer side of things, and also retails for about $5.

The third product I found inside the rose gold Ipsy bag was a sample size of Formula X nail polish from Sephora.  The deep red shade is called Ignite, and it is actual a perfect match for the pedicure I got on the weekend, so I can use it for touch-ups to keep my toes looking beautiful for a few more days!  Full-size polishes sell for $13, so this is another sample that I’d value around $5.

Up next I found a Not Soap, Radio hand and body lotion in a scent called Liquid Freud. It claims to promote positive emotional well-being through a scent of coconut and mango.  I would have loved to receive this in the spring, so I could have paired it with my summer scents.  I’m not sure if pairing coconut-mango with my winter perfumes is going to promote emotional well-being or just sensory overload!  It’s hard to price out this sample, but based on the per-ounce price of similar products on the brand’s website I’d say it’s worth about $1.

ipsy-september-2015-b

The last product in my Ipsy bag was my favorite: a Laneige Water Sleeping Mask.  I find Asian beauty products interesting and inspiring, and while I’m not addicted to them on the level of some bloggers, I do love the way Asian brands are combining fun packaging with reliable results.  I haven’t tried a sleeping mask before, but I’m excited to try this gel-based version.  The sample size of this product is worth about $6.

The total value of my Ipsy bag this month was about $22 USD, or $29 CAD.  It’s no secret that the Canadian dollar is struggling at the moment, and the amount that I paid for this bag (including shipping) $20.25 CAD.  This might not be the highest-value bag I’ve received, but I do know that every product I received will make it into my beauty rotation in the upcoming weeks.  I have cancelled all of my other beauty boxes but am happy to keep Ipsy going for at least another month!

Leave a Reply

