Empties – December 2015

Empties December 2015

Another year comes to a close, another haul of empties goes into the garbage bin.  So, what will I re-purchase in 2016?

Carefree Aloe Intimate Wash – I bought this in Romania a few years ago.  Unlike some other products with strong perfumes that are designed to mask your vagina’s natural scent, this was a gentle, unscented, pH-balanced intimate wash that kept things comfortable when I was using foreign laundry detergent.  For the sake of your sexual health it’s a good idea to have an unscented, non-irritating product like this to wash “down there”.

Nivea Harmony Time Body Wash – It washed my body and smelled nice.  It didn’t do any favors for my skin.

Live Clean Argan Oil Body Wash – Again, I liked the scent of this one but didn’t find it especially moisturizing.

L’Oreal EverCreme Intense Nourishing Shampoo – I used up the conditioner long ago, and this mostly-empty bottle was sitting in my shower for too long.  This winter, I made a point of using it up.  I love this formula’s rich hydration, and while it can be a bit heavy on fine hair it’s great in dry climates.

Nair for Sensitive Skin – I’m still not convinced that hair removal creams keep me smooth longer than shaving, but I like the smell of this stuff so I buy it when it’s on sale.

Septona Facial Wipes – I bought these (with Greek writing on them!) at the State Department Store in Mongolia, for my Gobi Desert excursion.  They kept my face (and armpits!) clean, but I’d stick with brands I know better in the future.

Secret Antiperspirant – One that keeps popping up in my empties, I know! I was so committed to using the last little bit (because I forgot to buy more…) that it fell out.

L’Oreal Pro-Keratin Refill Shampoo and Conditioner – I received these in a beauty box last year.  I really liked this pairing, from L’Oreal’s salon line, and would repurchase at a lower price point.

Beauty Protector Leave-In Conditioner – Obviously everyone loves the smell of this one, which is a Birchbox exclusive.  It didn’t do much to improve the look or feel of my hair, but again, it smelled amazing.

Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentree – I already had my friend from Franch repurchase this ultra-rich, ultra-hydrating moisturizer for me.  I’ll never get away with using it in the summer, but in the winter it’s kept my skin soft and supple.

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara – I liked this one, but no more than a good drugstore mascara.

Benefit Bad Gal LashI’ll never run out, so I’ll never repurchase.

Elizabeth Arden Flawless Future Powered by Ceramide Caplet Serum – I definitely enjoyed typing that more than I enjoyed using this!  The caplets felt like they were full of shimmer, and most of them didn’t actually make it up the pump (you can see they’re all stuck in the bottom of the “empty” sample bottle).  Besides the problems with dispensing this product, there were no noticeable improvements to my skin tone or texture (other than the initial blast of shimmer).

Brazen Eyeshadow (or Lipgloss?) – I think I got this in a Beauty Box 5 a few years ago and just forgot to throw it out.  Never opened, not interested in this coppery color.

Rimmel Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation – I’m always kind of scared of trying out drugstore foundations, but this sample made me think that maybe my fear is unfounded.  I liked the soft, easy-to-apply texture of this foundation.

Eucerin Hyal-Urea Day and Night Cream – I kind of love the idea of skin creams that feature urea.  Both of these offered a good, thick layer of moisture to my skin, but didn’t go beyond basic skincare to offer anything special.

Annemarie Borlind Cleansing Gel and Toner – Samples from my local health food shop; nothing interesting.

MDCI Parfums Peche Cardinal – I finally used up a perfume sample!  One down, ninety-nine to go!  I loved this peach and white floral combination from MDCI Parfums; I wish there was a place nearby where I could check out more of their line.

Leave a Reply

