WPC – Barcelona’s Pavilion Mies van der Rohe

Pavilion Mies van der Rohe

I have a favorite spot in Barcelona that few people seem to know about.  In fact, when I was there over the Christmas holidays I stayed with a friend who lived only two kilometers away (I walked there from his house!) but had never heard of my favorite place.  What is this mysterious locale, you ask?  It’s the Pavilion Mies van der Rohe, a reconstruction of the German Pavilion that Mies van der Rohe designed for the 1929 International Exposition in Barcelona.  The pavilion was always intended to be temporary, so it was torn down within a year of its initial construction, but the building’s modernist impact was so unquestionable that in the mid-1980s a group of Spanish architects led a movement to reconstruct the pavilion at the base of Montjuic mountain in Barcelona, where it still stands today.  This week’s photo challenge is all about gravity and feeling weighted or weightless, and I think the Pavilion Mies van der Rohe is one of the few places on earth where you can step a few meters away from the hustle and bustle of the city and feel like you’re actually floating- weightless- in another world.  The use of glass and water throughout the pavilion creates a completely otherwordly effect that I have yet to experience anywhere else, which is why I always make the Pavilion Mies van der Rohe one of my first stops when I visit Barcelona.

Leave a Reply

