Empties – March 2016

empties-march-2016

I’ve been collecting empties for a while (my last post was in December) but it doesn’t seem like I’ve amassed too many in that time.  Maybe it’s because I took bunch of almost-empties to Spain over Christmas and to Mexico over Spring Break?  Regardless, here’s what I’m throwing away for good today!

Clean and Clear Continuous Control Acne Cleanser – My favorite pimple-fighting face wash.  I mainly use it on my chest, where I’m prone to breakouts along the lines of my sports bras.

Dove Pistachio Creme with Magnolia Body Wash – I love the scent of this body wash… in small doses.  It’s so distinct that I do need to mix it up with other scents on a regular basis, though.

Colgate Sensitive Pro-Relief Toothpaste – It was on sale, so I gave it a shot.  It worked just as well as my trusty Sensodyne.

Skintimate Skin Therapy Shave Gel – I keep giving this line a second chance, but it’s never as good as…

… Gilette Satin Care Shave Gel – It works up to a thick, creamy lather and I never get razor burn when I’m using it.

eScents Aromatherapy Body Lotion – This was a custom scent blend that I had done in an eScents store a few years ago.  I don’t adhere strictly to “best before” dates, but I knew it was time for this one to go.

Q-Tips – Couldn’t live without them!

Epice Purifying Exfoliant – I liked the texture of this microdermabrasion-inspired exfoliant, but didn’t like the strong scent.  I think it was from a beauty box.

Desert Essence Tropical Breeze Deodorant – My new favorite aluminum-free, natural deodorant.  The texture isn’t sticky, the scent is fresh and light, and it keeps me smelling lovely (but doesn’t provide any sweat-fighting power).

Nuxe Nuxellence Jeunesse Serum – I got this as part of a travel kit about two years ago.  Like most serums, it felt nice but it didn’t seem to impact the appearance of my skin.

The Treehouse Brazilian Nut Body Butter – I love the (artificial) scent of Brazil nuts, and this super-cheap body butter delivered on both fragrance and hydration.  It was almost used up so I decided to toss it as part of my “best before” binge.

Lancome La Vie Est Belle – You can barely see this tiny perfume sample.  This is part of the gourmand-floral family that includes Flowerbomb and Si.  While it’s not unique, it’s a crowd-pleaser.

Philosophy Hope in a Jar – This was from a beauty gift bag.  I quite liked the texture of this moisturizer, and it left my skin looking noticeably better the next day… but OMG did it smell terrible.  What was Philosophy thinking?

Sensodyne Brilliant Whitening Toothpaste – I’ve been using Sensodyne for years, at my dentist’s recommendation, and like all the formulas.

Sinus Relief Essential Oil – I’m not sure of the brand, but I put two drops of this into the “medicine holder” part of my humidifier (not into the water!) to infuse the air with a nose-clearing scent in the winter.

Ecru Acacia Protein BB Cream for Hair – A great beauty box treat.  This protecting, hydrating leave-in hair cream smelled wonderful and helped make my hair smooth and shiny when I was heat-styling.  I actually really liked this one.

Revlon Uniq 10-in-1 Hair Treatment – Or, In Which Revlon Attempts to Go Up-Market?  I was surprised to see Revlon might be attempting to branch out into salon-quality products; I wasn’t surprised to see that their efforts didn’t pay off.  I didn’t like the smell of this product and it didn’t do much for my hair (unlike the Ecru product!).

Leave a Reply

